top of page

Business Durham Advisory Board

The activities of Business Durham are overseen by an Advisory Board comprising of leading members of the County Council together with prominent business leaders in the County.

Business Durham advisory board

Offer a private sector perspective to Business Durham activities and proposals

Private Sector Liaison


Offer insight through experience into the business world and global economy

Business Insight


Act as the interface between private sector and the County Council



Act as champions and ambassadors for County Durham

Durham Champions


Sponsor and promote initiatives and events for County Durham

Initiative Sponsors


Provide a focus for and influence on County Council economic policy and strategy through acting as a critical friend

Policy Influencers


Provide a focus for the engagement of the private sector

Sector Engagement


Meet The Advisory Board

Sonya Atkins

Area Director - North East & Humber

Lloyds Banking Group

Rhiannon Bearne

Policy and Representation Director

North East Chamber of Commerce

Scott Bibby

Country Manager

Etex New Ways for the UK and Ireland

Jim Brewin

Chief Director UK & Ireland

Hitachi Rail

Tania Cooper MBE

Managing Director


David Foreman



Victoria Gemmill

Head of Campaigns

Department for International Trade

Toby Heintz

Managing Director

Pinnacle Retec

Jonathan Moreland

Managing Partner

Swinburne Maddison

Peter Razaq

Co-Founder and Chairman

Kans and Kandy Group

Michael Smith


RTC North Limited

Neil Spann


Power Roll

Michael Stirrup


Waterstons Limited

Michael Tyerman

Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director


Associate Directors

Amy Harhoff

Corporate Director of Regeneration, Economy and Growth

Durham County Council

Andy Kerr

Head of Economic Development

Durham County Council

Sarah Slaven

Managing Director

Business Durham



Cllr Richard Bell

Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Finance

Cllr Amanda Hopgood

Leader of the Council and Chair of Business Durham Advisory Board

Cllr Carl Marshall

Leader of the Labour Group

Cllr James Rowlandson

Cabinet Member for Resources, Investments & Assets

Cllr Elizabeth Scott

Cabinet Member for Economy & Partnerships

Cllr Mark Wilkes

Cabinet Member for Neighbourhoods & Climate Change

bottom of page